Where Does Your Story Begin?

My stories rarely start with my first words. Yes, I know through study and experience that stories evolve; that the first paragraph, page or chapter will likely be rewritten many times; that even the best plotter leaves room for discovery. It doesn’t matter. Humans are exceptionally skilled in self-deception, and I can take my place in the higher ranks when it comes to my own writing. This would not be a problem if I enjoyed revising, but I don’t. I want to write and move on. Then the universe pats me on the head and whispers, “Oh, you sweet thing.” If this is your experience as well, let’s design club jackets, right after we revise our opening lines for the gazillionth time.

Luck and wisdom!

Author: Lani Longshore

Quilter, writer, chocoholic, black belt (karate), killer of houseplants, reader of maps (and I still get lost)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.