The First Point of Departure

The first point of departure from the plan for my architectural quilt came sooner than I expected. The very first unit threw me a curve. The painting has a shadow on the leftmost part of the barn that I drew accurately, but didn’t piece properly. I left it as it was and went on to the next unit. The roof line gave me trouble, so I went to the third unit. I figured I’d just work my way across the quilt top from left to right until I found my groove. Well, looking at what I had sewn, I realized I would have to fix the issues sooner rather than later because the units needed to be pieced together in a different order than I had started. Luckily, I had wanted to depict a barn in moonlight, not sunlight. Once you put a dark background on a landscape, it’s no big deal to turn it into a space quilt. If I can’t make this thing look like a barn, I’ll make it look like a space station. At least I still like the way the pinks and blacks are playing together.

Luck and wisdom!

Author: Lani Longshore

Quilter, writer, chocoholic, black belt (karate), killer of houseplants, reader of maps (and I still get lost)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.