Truth, Beauty, and Ugly Fabric

My husband mentioned – not for the first time – about the long-lasting impact of ancient Greek ideas on what were proper questions to ask for modern science. For the ancient Greeks, truth had to be beautiful and beauty relied on symmetry. Okay, I’m oversimplifying, but those notions about beauty are still prevalent in the art world, and still determine the kinds of questions we ask about what constitutes art.

This leads me to a confession: I like ugly fabric. Not all ugly fabric, mind you, just some. Ask any of my quilting friends about me heading straight for the least attractive bolts on the shelves in every single quilt store. It’s not like I feel sorry for the uglies and think I have to rescue them. I honestly enjoy including them in my work. Those batik frogs, for instance, are just waiting for inspiration. I know they’ll look fabulous. At any rate, that’s my truth about beauty.

Luck and wisdom!

Author: Lani Longshore

Quilter, writer, chocoholic, black belt (karate), killer of houseplants, reader of maps (and I still get lost)

3 thoughts on “Truth, Beauty, and Ugly Fabric”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.