Gems of Wisdom From Scraps of Fabric

I finished the top that will fill the requirements of two art group assignments. Once it’s quilted it will be folded into Amador Valley Quilters’ donations. That makes it a three-fer from the start, but I’ve also received two other gems of wisdom from this project.

First, I learned why I can never make yardage out of my scraps. I’ve done it in workshops and found it fun and useful. Back in my studio, not so much. Now I know why. I only have fun sewing scraps together if I know what I’m going to do with them. It’s the same reason I don’t enjoy cutting small squares from my stash for some future project – I need to know what I’ll do before I cut. Making two inner borders from my beige scraps was a delight, but I could never have pieced a long strip just to have on hand. Now that I know this about my approach to design, I’ll make a point of pulling out my scrap bags when I get to the borders of future projects. Who knows, I might even pull them out from the beginning.

The second benefit is I cut into my tree fabric stash but still have some pieces left. They aren’t big enough to delude myself that I’ll use them as borders, but they are perfect for art quilts and technique experiments. They are in that sweet spot – too big to throw away, not big enough that I feel I’m squandering them if the piece doesn’t work out. Now that I know this about my design process, I might revisit my scrap bags for other hidden beauties.

Luck and wisdom!

Author: Lani Longshore

Quilter, writer, chocoholic, black belt (karate), killer of houseplants, reader of maps (and I still get lost)

2 thoughts on “Gems of Wisdom From Scraps of Fabric”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.