The Problem With Hand Dye . . .

. . . is that it never comes out quite as the amateur expects. I had a great idea for dying some lace scraps for a kudzu quilt. I thought the dye would be more than intense. Not so much. The beaded thread-work below is what I was aiming for.

Ah, well. The lace scraps have enough variation (some look almost untouched) that I can use them for highlights. I might paint some lace scraps – trust me, I’ve got plenty to experiment with – and see where that gets me. I’m not going to be quilting through the lace, so it doesn’t matter how stiff it becomes. Who knows, with Christmas coming up I might find a use for green lace.

Luck and wisdom!

Author: Lani Longshore

Quilter, writer, chocoholic, black belt (karate), killer of houseplants, reader of maps (and I still get lost)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.