Upgrades – Gift or Curse?

Some wretched app on my cell phone absolutely positively had to schedule an upgrade last week. My phone reacted poorly, and I lost all my photos, my Instagram connection, basically anything I actually use. Curses. The good news is once I accepted that I would be without a phone for a while I stopped thinking about it and began to appreciate the gift of time. The hours I  might have been on social media turned into a lovely period for handwork.

I finished the cross-stitch thistle that went off the rails a couple of weeks ago. Now that it is done, I’m actually quite pleased with it.

The next project-in-progress was inspired by some trees I saw on a family trip to Montana. The trunks were straight and tall. I started embroidering lines to represent them. I may or may not add the canopy after I’ve grown weary of laying down straight lines in varying widths. Someone asked what this piece was going to be, but I didn’t have an answer. For the moment, it is simply a bit of beauty to occupy my hands and entertain my eyes.

I still don’t know if upgrades are a gift or a curse. My current phone is toast, so until the new one arrives I’ll be living the unconnected life. At least I know that I can go back to the way life used to be if necessary.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Upgrades – Gift or Curse?”

  1. hamanne Says:

    I feel your pain and your relief

  2. timetowritenow Says:

    Upgrades and passwords are the most annoying and primitive issues we have to deal with these days. Can’t wait for fingerprint ID and behind the scenes automatic upgrades that don’t mess with the present status quo.

    I love the green fabric and the straight lines inspired by trees. Montana is inspiring. We used to go there annually for about 4 years in a row…to Livingston, the train town.

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Thanks! This was the first time I had seen the beautiful part of Montana. My other experience was limited to the Interstate, which is never enough to make an adequate evaluation.

Leave a Reply

