Endings and Beginnings – From The Mummy to The Mystery

The Progressive Part finished up our Movie Project. My movie was The Mummy (1932, Boris Karloff). Here is the quilt the group made.

I love every inch of this quilt, and you’ll see more details as I begin the quilting and embellishing. For now, here is a sample.

With every ending comes a new beginning, especially in quilting. Our next project is Abandoned Fabric. We each brought three bags containing a quarter yard of something we once loved but never used. The bags went on a table and we picked our poison. Here’s what I discovered when I opened my bags.

My assignment – make a quilt from this

I laughed, because the whole point of the project is to create a challenge. I think I’ve got a boat-load of challenge in this collection. I started auditioning fabric for what is now my mystery quilt. Here is one scrap that I thought I might include.

A scrap from another Progressive Party project

Here is another.

Auditioning fabric for this project may take a lo-o-o-ong time. I could see going through my entire stash before an idea hits, which might not be such a bad idea. The drawers could use a good sort-out and refold. Who knows what treasures I might unearth?

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Endings and Beginnings – From The Mummy to The Mystery”

  1. Tracy @ It's a T-Sweets Day! Says:

    Your challenge is crazy hard! But I like where you are going with it:). Good luck!

  2. SallyKimball Says:

    Love your humorist post! Can’t wait to display my fabric again. Getting the urge to use my Western designed fabric for a large art piece from my new home.

  3. norma Says:

    Sometimes it’s easier to use up someone else’s stash rather than your own. I like that cow.

  4. Eloise Hamann Says:

    My fave is the top one.

  5. timetowritenow Says:

    Is the top one yours? I’m confused how the movie project works. Was the top one a work in progress with attendees? I agree, I love every inch of it.

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      The top picture is of the entire unquilted piece, which belongs to me although everyone worked on it. I started with one square, and everyone else added something – sometimes a square, sometimes a border. The detail picture is of the square of the eye of Ra.Lani  Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com)When Chenille Is Not Enough (www.smashwords.com, Amazon.com, BarnesandNoble.com)Lani Longshore’s Blog (www.lanilongshore.wordpress.com) Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

      From: “Lani Longshore's Blog” To: longshore1769@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, April 17, 2017 11:34 AM Subject: [Lani Longshore’s Blog] Comment: “Endings and Beginnings – From The Mummy to The Mystery” #yiv2440051370 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv2440051370 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv2440051370 a.yiv2440051370primaryactionlink:link, #yiv2440051370 a.yiv2440051370primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv2440051370 a.yiv2440051370primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv2440051370 a.yiv2440051370primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv2440051370 WordPress.com | | |

Leave a Reply

