My Secret Weapon

I made a little progress with my lobster-beetle quilt. I’m definitely going to use embroidery, but it will only be sashiko-ish – I don’t have the right thread, and the motif is definitely not Japanese. To be honest, I’m not sure what shape the motif will ultimately take. That made me hesitate to do any marking at all until I remembered my secret weapon, soap.

I learned to use soap slivers to mark cottons from Maria Sakiyama, a good friend and fabulous seamstress. It lasts long enough for hand-work, but washes out easily. It’s readily available, easy to store, and easy to use.

That is, it is easy to mark a line. That doesn’t mean my needle will follow the line that my hand has drawn. Let me explain. This is the top with borders.

I drew a long, swooping line from the totem square down to the lower beetle strips.

Then I started embroidering. Lo and behold, my hand strayed from the line.

I have no idea why I couldn’t follow the line, but there it is. Now I have to decide if I’m going to keep the lines I’ve sewn or take them out and begin again. Since the soap line will wash away, I actually have a choice. If only all my mistakes were as accommodating.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “My Secret Weapon”

  1. hamanne Says:

    Clever to use soap as a marker. Now if I could use an eraser on pencil lines when I’m cutting paper for greeting cards, posters, or ??

  2. norma Says:

    Soap’s a good choice as it always comes out

  3. timetowritenow Says:

    Is that curve in the middle piece a soap line? I like it.
    Good topic with that picture to summarize on Instagram .

Leave a Reply

