Yellowstone The Quilt

Amador Valley Quilters will host Quilted Treasures XVII this April, and one of the quilts I want to show is from my Yellowstone patch series. That means I have to finish it first. Here’s how it started.

The itty-bitty beginning

The itty-bitty beginning

I wanted the patch that features two people looking out a window to appear as if the viewer was looking out a window. However, when you start with a 4″ center patch, you aren’t going to get a king-size quilt. I think this piece is 6″ x 10″. I added a boatload of beads, but it is still only 6″ x 10″.

Lani Longshore yellowstone detail

Since using an underquilt worked well for one of my Colors of the Vineyard quilts, I decided to do that again. After auditioning a bunch of browns and blacks, my eyes fell on this piece.

I let the print do the work

I let the print do the work

I love this fabric, and had just enough to bring the quilt to a respectable 16″ x 20″.

Finished

Finished

All that’s left is the sleeve and filling out the registration forms. See you April 22-23 at the Robert Livermore Community Center in Livermore, California.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Yellowstone The Quilt”

  1. Mary Says:

    Love it! I particularly like how you got humans, bison and bears (paw prints) all in such a compact size.

  2. norma Says:

    I love small quilts with lots to see

Leave a Reply

