The Zipper Journey

I unearthed a fabric collection that called out for a project. I knew it would make a more useful tote bag than a quilt; however, I have a gazillion tote bags. I also have a gazillion patterns for little zippered bags, so I decided to try one of them even though I’m not great with zippers (they never turn out as pretty as I would like).

The fabric, and the dreaded zipper

The fabric, and the dreaded zipper

For this bag, I decided to try putting tabs on the ends of the zipper.

This tiny rectangle of shoe fabric makes a difference

This tiny rectangle of shoe fabric makes a difference

I also decided I would take the time to baste the little critter in place.

Lani Longshore basted zipper

Who knew taking the time to do things properly was worth it?

Done!

Done!

Somewhere, my junior high home ec teacher is saying, “I told you so.”

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “The Zipper Journey”

  1. norma Says:

    Very cute – well done! Zips are hard – I avoid them if I can…

  2. Mary Says:

    Yep, life is full of “I told you so”s. I hate doing zippers too. Well done!

  3. Margaret Misegades Says:

    Want to drive somebody (usually your mother) nuts? Tell them when they said, “I told you so,” that they were right.

  4. Diane Says:

    Cute! Also, I never considered adding tabs to the zipper first. It must really corral those free legs at either end of the zipper that want to splay all over the place. I need to try that.

Leave a Reply

