When A Quilter Gives Thanks

Despite fighting a ridiculously resilient bug (the kind that requires antibiotics, not a call to technical support), I managed to clear off my sewing table. That lasted about a day, and I couldn’t stand the empty space. So I started another project, and got far enough along to call it good. For that, I give thanks.

Lani Longshore twist and turn top

There are a few gift quilts I want to make. This is one of them. None of the quilts I have in mind are Christmas presents. I figured if I could make the tops and backs before the holidays, I would be more inclined to get back into the sewing room in January. It always takes a while to remember what I do around here at the end of a vacation or celebration, so having a project waiting for me is essential.

The other reason I’m giving thanks is I think this is going to become my go-to pattern. I learned it as Twist and Turn.

Lani Longshore twist and turn blocks

The whole thing goes together in a flash, and is ideally suited to my preference of letting the fabric do the work. I hope this Thanksgiving you can find many things, big and small, that you call a blessing.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

