Don’t Mess With Halloween

Halloween is one of my favorite holidays, but this year I decided to scale back and not carve a pumpkin. That was my first mistake. My second mistake was second-guessing that decision. I went to the grocery Monday morning, pumpkins were on sale, and I took this as a sign that I should carve a pumpkin after all. My third mistake was picking the wrong knife.

Lani Longshore bandaged thumb

Yes, that is my thumb with the bandage covering a proper jab. My husband helped me clean up, then finished the carving.

Lani Longshore carved pumpkin

My husband was really sweet about the whole thing, especially since he is always warning me off knives. I come from a long line of women who can’t cut straight. My grandmother made fabulous bread, but her slices looked more like a sandy beach after a particularly vigorous wave washed over it – all ripples.

My other decorations were far less hazardous to make. I found some delightful orange pipe cleaners, and made a bow-tie for my monster-head scythe.

Lani Longshore Halloween decorations

I also found some bats on clips. Twist a few pipe cleaners together, attach the bats, and you’ve got a door hanger.

Lani Longshore bats

While we may have a pumpkin next year, I can guarantee you I won’t be carving it.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Don’t Mess With Halloween”

  1. Mary G. Says:

    Stickers or thick black markers work well for those of us who are not allowed to play with sharp objects but love decorated pumpkins. Also keep the pumpkin from decaying so rapidly and it can be re-purposed to Thanksgiving decorations, or food!
    Always good to hear of your adventures!

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      You know, I used a heavy black marker when I drew the face on the pumpkin. A little voice in my head said, “Self, just put it out like this.” I didn’t listen – mistake #4!

  2. marlenedotterer Says:

    OUCH! You can still type though, right?

  3. hamanne Says:

    I left my synthetic pumpkin in the attic. We are at the deadend of a steep hill and no trick or treaters feel like climbing. Now I have another reason for no longer buying real.

Leave a Reply

