Rusty Skills and How To Fix Them

Norma from She Sews You Know asked her readers what they did to repurpose old clothes. Since I repurpose old clothes to the Goodwill Store if they’re usable, and the scrap or rag bag if they’re not (the scrap bag being the one I save for quilt projects and the rag bag being the one I save for cleaning projects), I had to admit my sewing skills have become rusty. Then I saw an ad from C&T press.

Lani Longshore sewing book

Making clothes was never a joy for me, but I’ve accepted that there aren’t many designers focusing on my specific demographic. I also know that I am adventurous in my art quilts, not so much with the colors and prints I put on my body. So, I’m going to start polishing those sewing skills and see where it leads me. I’ve already taken a few baby steps toward that goal.

Lani Longshore cosmetics bag

I took one of my inherited zippers and some pink scraps and made myself a new cosmetic/travel bag. It’s small – 8 1/2″ x 5 1/2″ x 3″ – but that’s more than enough room. My beauty supplies are limited to hand cream and a couple of lipsticks. I save the big bags for my quilting projects.

Lani Longshore carryall

This is the latest bag for take-along projects. Sally Kimball gave me the pattern and inserts. This project taught me the value of really reading the directions, not sorta kinda maybe reading them as you are going along. While I managed to make everything fit together, it was often an exercise in humility.

Lani Longshore carryall interior

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Rusty Skills and How To Fix Them”

  1. norma Says:

    Your bags are great – look forward to seeing all the clothes you repurpose.

  2. timetowritenow Says:

    Don’t you love reading directions? Your projects turn out great with reading them or not.

Leave a Reply

