Closer to Finished

Thanks to good friend, writer and quilter Sally Kimball, I am closer to being finished with one of my Colors of the Vineyard challenges. She gave me a blue solid to use as an under quilt. I’m planning to hand quilt it (those marks are made with chalk that releases from the fabric easily – I checked first, then marked).

Sorta, kinda, maybe a modern quilting design

Sorta, kinda, maybe a modern quilting design

Here is the lesson for the day – always bring your fabrics/quilts/threads/embellishments with you when choosing a companion piece. If I hadn’t had the little tree quilt with me, I would never have believed that the blue would work.

I like the effect, and I think the tree does, too

I like the effect, and I think the tree does, too

I hope to be closer to finishing the other quilts in the series, especially the one based on Art Map Quilts by Valerie S. Goodwin, in a week or so. I brought the map quilt to my Art Critique group and received some terrific advice. My task is to make time to use that good advice. This is the perfect opportunity, now that it is the first day of fall and the temperatures are dropping, and before it gets too close to the holidays.

The picture is fine – I designed the quilt off-center

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Closer to Finished”

  1. Maya Madhavan Says:

    Love that quilting design Lani!

  2. timetowritenow Says:

    I like the blue Sally gave you. Looks great with the tree.

  3. marjorie Says:

    I like the effect of the blue too! Love your colors and your piece. Your beading is very beautiful.

Leave a Reply

