Pay The Money

The good news is I finished the body of my new handbag. I used a lot of stuff I already had. My pattern alterations mostly came out okay. The better news is I learned a valuable lesson – people who can make things well and readily are worth their weight in gold. Next time I need a new handbag, I will pay the money.

One button used, a bazillion more in the collection

One button used, a bazillion more in the collection

I am pleased enough with my work that I will actually use the bag (once I make the straps). Getting a chance to use this button is a big win.

I am not stressing over an eighth of an inch

I am not stressing over an eighth of an inch

Getting this zipper straight-ish is also a big win. I felt confident enough about my sewing abilities that I made a zippered pouch for the interior.

Zippered pouch, key chain fob, interior pockets

Zippered pouch, key chain fob, interior pockets

Still and all, I really don’t want to go through this experience again. I broke three (3!) needles, went to sleep thinking of different ways to draft patterns, and woke up worrying if I measured correctly for the interior pockets and pouches (I didn’t, but they’re still usable). It’s always good to sharpen up one’s skills, but it is better to learn when to let the professionals do the work – and be happy to pay the money.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Pay The Money”

  1. timetowritenow Says:

    Good job, Lani, on what I consider a difficult project. Lined inside with a zippered pouch, wow.

  2. hamanne Says:

    Laughed at your comment that the next time you’ll use money. I’ve had that thought a number of times.

Leave a Reply

