Forgotten Collections

I cleared off another bit of shelf the other day. Imagine my surprise when I discovered one of my thread boxes also has a collection of thimbles.

Lani Longshore thimbles

I bought most of these thimbles, in person, with my own money. You would think I would remember them. Not so.

Lani Longshore grandmother's thimbles

These are thimbles I remembered that I have. I inherited them from my grandmother. Some of them might be fifty years old or more. I’ll never know, because they arrived in a box after she died. I used to feel sad about that, the not knowing. Given that I’ve forgotten the history of my own thimbles, I’m going to stop feeling sad, and just be happy that I have them, and that connection with my grandmother.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Forgotten Collections”

  1. Mary Says:

    I just moved and I’m learning all about finding things I forgot I had. Sometimes it’s a delightful surprise, and sometimes it’s “OMG, what was I thinking?!?” May you have more delights than OMGs.

    Mary

  2. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    Great post – I can relate to the nostalgic possessions and memories we have been given by our families. It also reminds me I have to start cleaning out my quilting studio.

  3. KerryCan Says:

    Such a smart attitude–use, enjoy, remember the person behind the things!

Leave a Reply

