Bound With Ribbons

I had a little “waste not, want not” talk with myself. Many quilts are stacked up, waiting to be bound. I dreaded the time spent cutting strips, much less choosing the fabric to make binding. “Self, use your leftover ribbon,” I said.

Pink organza ribbon gives just a little sparkle

Pink organza ribbon gives just a little sparkle

I ran out of blue ribbon for my Cuba quilt, so finished it with gold.

My Cuba quilt - blue ribbon on the side, gold on top and bottom

My Cuba quilt – blue ribbon on the side, gold on top and bottom

This quilt was buried in the middle of the pile. I ran out of brown ribbon when I started and didn’t get back to it. There was still gold ribbon on the spool, so I finished it, too.

Lani Longshore floral

The pink quilts were part of a series that I intended to bead. I’ve started the beading, but the exact right design hasn’t revealed itself yet. Until it does, I’ll keep the quilts next to me on the couch and add beads as the mood strikes (or the TV show gets boring).

Lani Longshore beading detail

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Bound With Ribbons”

  1. Mary Gates Says:

    Very nice! I will have to file this in my “Ideas worth borrowing” file! I get a lot of those from you. LOL

Leave a Reply

