The Turquoise Trail

I received a wonderful collection of beads at the first Art Quilt Santa Fe. I’ve been saving them for just the right project, something to commemorate the Turquoise Trail (yes, it’s a real thing).

Lani Longshore embellishments

You know what happens once you reserve something for “the right project.” First, you put the item up against every piece of fabric in your stash, but nothing inspires you. Then it gets lost because another project comes up and you’ve got a deadline. Then you rediscover the item and put it in a safe place, which you immediately forget because you have at least half a dozen safe places in your studio (don’t lie, I know you do).

Eventually, the item resurfaces once again. If you are very lucky, you have a project that is just right enough. That’s what happened to me this week.

Lani Longshore turquoise trail top

I used some of my chenille tape for the horizontal turquoise lines, and some of the raw silk I had painted. I’m not sure how to quilt this top, but at least it is pieced. I even have a back for it.

While I was thinking about all things turquoise, I opened the bag with my next Progressive Party project. Inside was a wonderful collection of African-themed fabrics. I used a print of huts and a batik that could have been part of my Southwest collection for this block, as well as a solid turquoise for the separator strips.

Lani Longshore framed huts block

My next big push will be to clear off the sewing table for a marathon quilting session. I have a stack of tops that I must attack before it attacks me. After that, it’s beading time.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “The Turquoise Trail”

  1. Road Show Quilts | Lani Longshore's Blog Says:

    […] Mastering the world, one stack at a time « The Turquoise Trail […]

Leave a Reply

