Of Parks and Fabric

Because I have many works in progress at any given moment, the chances are good that pieces of one project will wander into another. The chances are also good that some of those pieces won’t age as well as others. I discovered this when I started the latest Challenge project, which is to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the National Park Service.

Lani Longshore Grand Canyon

The fabric in this quilt is from a collection of Southwest prints and other prints that sorta, kinda, maybe go with them. The photo is from the Grand Canyon. It still gives me the screaming heebie-jeebies to see all those people on the other side of the little stone wall (which was put there to tell us not to be an idiot and fall off the cliff).

Those aren't all trees

Those aren’t all trees

I printed the photo on canvas. It aged well enough. I can’t say the same for the pictures I printed on cotton.

Auditioning the prints

Auditioning the prints

These pictures have been sitting in a pile so long that I may never get the paper stabilizer off the back. The ink faded a little, too, but nothing so bad that a little touch-up with my watercolor pencils won’t fix it.

Lani Longshore audition detail

This striped fabric is from a collection of landscape prints. I believe I wanted to embroider trees and flowers on it. Now it’s going to stand in for striated rock. If I’ve got a big enough scrap left after I finish the park quilt, I may still embroider a few trees and flowers. In the meantime, I’m using up my stash.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

