Precision

Precision is not as simple as you might think. As the contestants on my new favorite TV guilty pleasure, Team Ninja Warrior, demonstrate each week, your brain tells you one thing but reality tells you another. This month’s Progressive project required me to assemble two long strips of rectangles, which would be sewn next to a 60 1/4″ separator strip. This was my result.

They were supposed to be even, not staggered

They were supposed to be even, not staggered

I’ve been quilting long enough to know what a quarter inch seam allowance looks like – or so I thought. Turns out if you are two threads off on each seam, after twenty seams you’re an inch out of alignment. Fortunately for me, I erred on the skinny side, so I didn’t have to rip out any seams, just make the seam allowance a little bigger. The smaller strip of rectangles measured out perfectly when I pressed the seams again.

The moral of the story is your ruler really is your best friend. The corollary is always remember to reward yourself when you follow all the steps precisely.

Flowers -  no calories, always welcome

Flowers – no calories, always welcome

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Precision”

  1. Melanie McNeil Says:

    It’s a good lesson to learn and use! When I get cocky, I usually regret it. I get better results when I check assembled sizes from time to time.

  2. Lani Longshore Says:

    Good lesson, yes; easy to forget, also yes!

Leave a Reply

