I Deny the Reality of Finite Space

The return of rain to California is such a miracle it is spilling over to other things, like my to-do list. I actually finished the piece for the Quilting Arts readers challenge. This represents my super power, which is putting more stuff into any given area than one might think possible. I call it “I Deny the Reality of Finite Space.”

I Deny the Reality of Finite Space - a study in beads

I Deny the Reality of Finite Space – a study in beads

This piece will also be my Challenge Group project on the theme of holes. There are holes in the beads, holes in the button, and holes in the quilt itself.

Lani Longshore quilt detail

Here is a shot of the real secret to my success in stuffing (hint: I cheat).

Perhaps my real super power is hiding stuff on the back?

Perhaps my real super power is hiding stuff?

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “I Deny the Reality of Finite Space”

  1. Shirley Buxton Says:

    I warn you I stare wide-eyed at persons who take pieces of material, cut, stitch, labor, then often present to the world an art masterpiece. I have such a friend, who has amazed me for years. Love this post, and yep! I stared.

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Thank you! Staring is good. It’s the quick scan of the work and quicker step away that artists dread. Even if the response to our work is “huh, who would have thought you could do that”, at least we are connecting.

Leave a Reply

