Filling Holes

I spent a lot of time filling holes this week. There was the hole in the blog line-up for Tri-Valley Writers, there was a hole in the flavor profile of my persimmon sauce, and there were holes on the contest quilt for Quilting Arts magazine readers’ challenge.

holes-C-1-13-16

The theme is your superpower. I decided my superpower is the ability to ignore the reality of finite space if I have more stuff to cram into any given spot. To translate that into an art quilt, I picked a limited palette of beads and started stitching.

holes-1-13-16

I also did some hand quilting

holes-B-1-13-16

There is every possibility I will miss the deadline for this challenge because I will keep trying to cram more beads on the surface. That is my superpower, after all. Not to worry. The Challenge Group project is about holes. I can easily rewrite my artist statement to say this quilt represents the absence of holes.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Filling Holes”

  1. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    Stellar

  2. norma Says:

    Lovely!

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      I noticed your blog about solar printing, and your question about improving old projects. I keep thinking I will, but so haven’t gotten around to enhancing anything once the binding is on.

Leave a Reply

