Starting the Year with Determination

Long ago I gave up New Year Resolutions for New Year Projects. Sometimes I succeed, sometimes I don’t, but there’s a lot more to be learned from having a project go wrong than from having one’s resolve disappear like the Christmas fudge. This year started with my determination to work on projects even if I don’t have a clear plan.

Basted and ready

Basted and ready

These small pieces have been waiting to be quilted for weeks. That in itself isn’t the problem. I’ve got tops that have been waiting for years to be quilted. The problem is I want to quilt these so I can bead them and use the collection for a quilt show (no, I don’t have a show scheduled, but I have to have a body of work before I can approach anyone to arrange something, yes?). January arrived, as I knew it must, and I decided to let the quilts suggest designs.

When all else fails, follow the lines

When all else fails, follow the lines

The first quilt on the stack had a section that needed a quilting design to keep the fusible applique in place. I followed the lines of the roses. The empty white space seemed to say it wouldn’t object to continuing the rose motif. I liked the result.

Letting my fingers do the work

Letting my fingers do the work

The next section seemed a good candidate for roses, too. I did the work right then, while my fingers still remembered how to flow from petal to leaf. The rest of the quilt went silent at that point. No matter. Tomorrow I’ll start again, determined to listen to the piece. Eventually, it will talk to me.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Starting the Year with Determination”

  1. timetowritenow Says:

    I like how your quilting talks to you.

Leave a Reply

