The Season of Silly Things

This is the time of year that pack rats shine. We find things, silly things, to go on tables or in stockings or on trees. I’ve already had a good start to the season, thanks to the Thanksgiving turkey that graced our table.

Lani Longshore gingerbread turkey

I found this gingerbread turkey kit at Trader Joe’s. The gingerbread pieces were already made. My son and I had great fun assembling the kit, although I suspect he had more fun laughing at how excited I was to put the critter together.

My reward for sorting another bin in the sewing room was finding some buttons I bought years ago. I plan to glue this moose on a plain, flat ornament and add it to my Christmas moose collection.

Lani Longshore moose button

The pink flamingo buttons may sit in the “what do I do with this” pile a little longer, but I’m still thrilled to discover them.

Lani Longshore pink flamingoes

Quilting Arts magazine’s latest reader challenge is to illustrate your super power in fabric. This month my super power is finding silly things and having fun. I plan to bead the living daylights out of this fabric.

Lani Longshore beading project

I’m not sure what I’ll call the piece, but I do know I’ll be giggling the entire time I’m making it just because of the tin I’m using to hold the lavender beads.

Lani Longshore mint tin

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “The Season of Silly Things”

  1. Neva Says:

    Great finds!! Love the gingerbread turkey.

  2. Ann A. Says:

    OMG the turkey us fabulous!

  3. KerryCan Says:

    Sounds like you’re having lots of fun!

  4. Julaina Kleist-Corwin Says:

    I can’t wait to see the the fabric you are going to bead the living daylights out of it. It’s a very interesting design to begin with and with the beads, it will be stunning.

  5. norma Says:

    The turkey made me laugh out loud…

Leave a Reply

