Mary Ellen Hopkins and the Joy of Simple Blocks

The holiday season is staring off with three gifts from the universe. First, I finished my project before the deadline. Second, I pulled out my copy of Mary Ellen Hopkin’s The It’s Okay If You Sit On My Quilt Book and rediscovered the joy of simple blocks. Third, I made a special place on the shelves for my Hopkins collection.

hopkins-books-11-25-15

Mary Ellen Hopkins was the first important quilt lecturer I ever heard, and her advice shaped the way I approach the craft. She is the reason I have such an impressive collection of graph paper notebooks – you never know when you’re going to run across a design you can turn into a quilt block.

I wish I could credit Hopkins with an equally impressive collection of finished quilts, but at least I crossed off one more thing on my to-do list. The project with a deadline is for the Progressive Party. I made two blocks for a soft and feminine quilt.

hopkins-floral-block-11-25-15

Pink, green and yellow quilts have the same effect on me as blue and yellow quilts – immediately calming. This block is great for using leftovers from a large-scale print.

hopkins-pink-block-11-25-15

I wanted to add some yellow to this block, too, but the fabrics wouldn’t play nice together. Ah, well, pink and soft green works, too.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Mary Ellen Hopkins and the Joy of Simple Blocks”

  1. Vi Parsons Says:

    Love it! That is so simplistic and calming, it is a peace and a piece quilt.

  2. KerryCan Says:

    I love that “sit on my bed” book, too–it’s one of the first ones I got when I started quilting and i still think it’s fab.

  3. Margaret Misegades Says:

    Definitely high on my go-to list also. She makes it so easy by being so logical.

Leave a Reply

