Muddle in the Middle

Writers are familiar with the term “muddle in the middle.” It means the hash you’ve made of your story while you were getting from the grab-them-by-the-throat beginning to the eye-popping ending. This week, I created a visual for that phenomenon in my sewing room.

My messy, muddled middle of the room

My messy, muddled middle of the room

I’ve made great progress organizing my two walls of shelves, but in the process I’ve pushed everything to the center of the room. This is a bad thing – not the Cuban Missile Crisis bad, but still not good. I have a project with a deadline, so I have to sort enough stuff to make space at the sewing machine to work on it. More important, I have to avoid the impulse to pile things up in front of my newly organized shelves.

What I cleared out while organizing the other shelves

What I cleared out while organizing the other shelves

All of this happened because I was able to open up some space on the shelves pictured above. I decided to be sensible about filling the holes, and put all of the like things together. That’s when I discovered that the bead collection I thought I had consolidated somehow grew. A lot. It now takes up nearly an entire shelf all on its own.

The second row holds my bead collection

The second row holds my bead collection

Even with the muddle in the middle, I consider my efforts a win. This is the most floor space I’ve had in ages. I’m not saying being able to vacuum the carpet will help my creativity, but it might cut down on the sneezing.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

