Catching Dead Herrings

Dead herrings are kind of like red herrings, only they’re clues or plot twists the author meant to revisit but forgot. I have a lot of dead herrings in the sewing room, and this week I went fishing for them.

The back stack

The back stack

First on the list were backs for the pieces I want to bead. In the past I’ve made a back from something that was big enough regardless of whether it matched the top. I’m trying to break that habit, and I actually made an effort to have some connection between my tops and backs.

The batt stack

The batt stack

Next came digging out the batting. I have a couple of unopened packages, but I knew there were some pieces left from other projects that would be the right size. Miracle of miracles, I found the stash (at least I hope this is the only stash of leftover batting).

Lani Longshore space convergence

Finally, I made the piece I had originally planned for the Challenge Connections project. I wanted to make a convergence quilt with some space print fabric and some primitive prints. Then I found a square from a hand-marbling class that I took years ago. It made sense at the time to cut it in half and use for a top and bottom border.

Next week, if all goes well, I’ll layer and baste. Then the dead herrings will truly be caught.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Catching Dead Herrings”

  1. Ann A. Says:

    At first glance, and if you squint, it has a Gustav Klimt feel to it!

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Oh, it does, doesn’t it? Hmm, I might be spinning off another series (in my copious free time).Lani  Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com)When Chenille Is Not Enough (www.smashwords.com, Amazon.com, BarnesandNoble.com)Lani Longshore’s Blog (www.lanilongshore.wordpress.com) Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com) From: “Lani Longshore's Blog” To: longshore1769@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, November 4, 2015 1:59 PM Subject: [Lani Longshore’s Blog] Comment: “Catching Dead Herrings” #yiv0736349482 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv0736349482 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv0736349482 a.yiv0736349482primaryactionlink:link, #yiv0736349482 a.yiv0736349482primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv0736349482 a.yiv0736349482primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv0736349482 a.yiv0736349482primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv0736349482 WordPress.com | | |

Leave a Reply

