Creating A New Stack

I finished two pillows recently, both with embroidered squares my grandmother marked but never completed.

No one sees the pen marks if you don't mention them

No one sees the pen marks if you don’t mention them

This is the one she marked with a ballpoint pen. Put it on the couch with a bunch of other pillows and no one notices. Big win.

Good enough for the good fabric

Good enough for the good fabric

This is another one from her collection. I loved the way it turned out, so I decided to use the good stuff for the back.

Lani Longshore pink back

I have many pieces of fabric that are too good to cut. This was one of them, but I cut it anyway. Once I had the pillow back pieced, I considered the remaining length. “Self,” I said, “you could combine this with another fabric that is too good to cut.” I found a sample of silk that I dyed in a Betty Busby class and sewed the two together.

Lani Longshore pink top

Just as I was congratulating myself that there was enough left of the pink floral to make a beaded wall-hanging, I realized the awful truth. I reduced my stack of embroidery only to create a new stack of stuff to be beaded. Truly, no good deed goes unpunished.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Creating A New Stack”

  1. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    Gorgeous work and results.

  2. Jeanne B. Brophy Says:

    Great, you brought out a treasured family heirloom so that it can me enjoyed, not hidden in a stack. Who cares if more stacks are formed, just think about what is no longer in the stack.

Leave a Reply

