There’s Always One More – Quote Challenge

Julaina Kleist-Corwin invited me to join a quote challenge – three posts, three quotes. She publishes great quotes all the time, so do check out her blog for some lovely reading. I can remember snarky quotes from movies, but those aren’t always useful. For my challenge, I’m going to offer advice I’ve found valuable. The first is one of my father’s favorite sayings: “There’s always one more SOB than you counted on.”

Even simple blocks can be troublesome

Even simple blocks can be troublesome

This is especially true in art. For me, the SOB is often a Surprisingly Obstreperous Block. I have re-sewn many a seam, only to find I have to nail that sucker down by hand to make the points match. In my writing, I’ve faced the subplots that wander so far off the path they must be abandoned, the characters that insist on hijacking the story, the red herrings that become dead herrings only to resurrect themselves at the most inconvenient moment.

The take-away for me is to plan as best I can, then step out in faith with a smile. Life will be what it will be. If I expect a setback and it doesn’t come, that counts as a win.

There will always be many more projects than I counted on

There will always be many more projects than I counted on

One last thing – I’m supposed to nominate others to play. Here are three, but any of you are welcome to share words of wisdom. The rules are simple:

  • Thank the blogger who invites you (that’s me)
  • Share a different quote in three separate posts. The quotes can be from your favorite book, author, or yourself, but if you quote someone else acknowledge the source with a link
  • Nominate three bloggers to join the game

I nominate:

Violet Carr Moore – Violet’s Vibes

Marlene Dotterer – Marlene Dotterer, Science Fiction and Fantasy Author

Neva Hodges – Words by Neva

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “There’s Always One More – Quote Challenge”

  1. mgcontrary@live.com Says:

    Hi Lanie! Here’s a quote I have posted in my cubicle at work:
    “If I am happy when good things happen to other people I will have many more chances to be happy than if I am only happy when good things happen to myself.” The Dalai Lama

    I’m going to share the SOB with my quilt group at our mini-retreat this weekend. Happy stitching!

    Mary

  2. Margaret Misegades Says:

    I always put a quote on my quilt labels, which will fit either the recipient or the quilt itself.

  3. timetowritenow Says:

    Lani, your dad is probably right on that one. God love those SOBs. In Vogler’s Writer’s Journey, they probably are the Threshold Guardians or the Tricksters

    I’m glad you’re keeping the Quote Challenge going. Vi followed up today.

Leave a Reply

