Legacy

This is my 300th weekly post. Three hundred weeks of saying, “I’m cleaning up my sewing room, starting tomorrow.”

And the stacks, they are a-growin'

And the stacks, they are a-growin’

Probably won’t happen.

I imagine my legacy will include written instructions not to turn my favorite batik into a clown costume, but it will also include memories of my unquenchable optimism that there is indeed enough time left in the universe to organize my sewing room. Then there will be the UFOs.

Paint, a stamp, blank fabric - what more could I want?

Paint, a stamp, blank fabric – what more could I want?

Someone may wonder what I intended to do with this grouping of leaves. That’s a very good question. Let me know if you’ve got an answer I can borrow.

I hope I won’t have too many UFOs that elicit the blank stare followed by, “Oh no, she didn’t.” That’s what happened when I tried to rinse out what I expected to be disappearing marking pen from my grandmother’s embroidery UFO. Turns out it is there-until-the-stars-grow-cold ballpoint ink.

Oh yes, she did

Oh yes, she did

Time to add some beads, I guess, or perhaps ribbon embroidery. Or maybe I’ll leave it as a warning to myself that some shortcuts really don’t work.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Legacy”

  1. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    Happy 300!

    Tip: I removed heavy pen marks from a tote bag with several applications of hair spray. Time consuming, but it worked. If not, a second row of crosstiching might be faster than beading.

  2. timetowritenow Says:

    Happy 300, Lani. Thanks, Vi, I’d never think of hair spray.

Leave a Reply

