Ghosts of Projects Past

I finished embroidering the squares I inherited from my grandmother. There are still two pillow forms left from my binge buying when they were on sale, so I planted myself in the sewing room and closed my eyes. “Self,” I said, “when you open your eyes, you’re going to see the right fabric for the pillows.”

It worked.

The fabric is from a series of spring quilts

The fabric is from a series of spring quilts

There are many bins with fabric collections in my sewing room, but I opened my eyes to the one with big-ish pieces left from other projects. No piece is larger than a half-yard, most are fat quarter size. That’s enough to make me feel guilty that I don’t have another project, but not enough to actually make another quilt. Pillows are a different critter. Pillows I can do with fat quarters and half-yards.

The fabric is from an Art Nouveau series

The fabric is from an Art Nouveau series

I’m not the only one benefiting from ghosts of projects past. We were talking with a friend about plans for our landscaping. My husband mentioned he wanted to do something interesting with large stones. Our friend said he could get us all the stones we needed since his daughter was changing the landscaping of her new house and had large stones she didn’t want.

I wonder if it will still look like an altar when the plants go in

I wonder if it will still look like an altar when the plants go in

Ghosts of projects past – the leftover bits and bobs – often have minds of their own. If you let them, they’ll tell you how to use them.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Ghosts of Projects Past”

  1. Moongazer Says:

    Those fabric pieces really are perfect. I especially like the Art Nouveau pairing.
    Rockeries are one of my favourite things in a garden. Those stones are going to look fab with the plants in. Have you decided on which plants you are going to use yet?

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Thanks! He isn’t certain what he wants in that rock structure. I made some suggestions, but we won’t be able to put anything in the ground until the fall anyway, so who knows what we’ll find at the garden shop then.  Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com)When Chenille Is Not Enough (www.smashwords.com, Amazon.com, BarnesandNoble.com)Lani Longshore’s Blog (www.lanilongshore.wordpress.com) Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com) From: “Lani Longshore's Blog” To: longshore1769@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, July 29, 2015 12:42 PM Subject: [Lani Longshore’s Blog] Comment: “Ghosts of Projects Past” #yiv8075657329 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8075657329 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8075657329 a.yiv8075657329primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8075657329 a.yiv8075657329primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8075657329 a.yiv8075657329primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8075657329 a.yiv8075657329primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8075657329 WordPress.com | | |

Leave a Reply

