A Game of Inches

This was the week to face the stacks of fabric I have been pushing aside for a long, long time. I started with the stack on the cutting table. Originally collected for one quilt, I finally admitted the quilt I started probably wouldn’t use all the fabric.

My row quilt

My row quilt

“Self,” I said, “do another row, maybe two, and call it good.” I made blocks for another row, but when I put them on the batting wall, I discovered another stack that needed immediate attention.

Playing peek-a-boo with my blocks

Playing peek-a-boo with my blocks

This is the stack I’ve been collecting for donation quilts. At least, I thought that’s what it was. Turned out I had some other things underneath the fabric, which I discovered when I started making 9-Patches.

Sheep and cow 9-Patches

Sheep and cow 9-Patches

The 9-Patches will take up less room than the scraps, so I’ll continue making them until the pile is gone. I put the books and beading supplies where they belonged, and now have a little more room to design the next part of the row quilt.

A game of inches, round 1

A game of inches, round 1

Yes, the shelf underneath the batting wall is still chock full of stuff, but that’s a project for another time. Clearing the stacks is a game of inches.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “A Game of Inches”

  1. Jeanne B. Brophy Says:

    I love the thought of inches, it seems much more doable that yards.

Leave a Reply

