Time To Play

This was the week to meet deadlines. I didn’t have time to play. “Self,” I said, “what did you expect when you leave things to the last minute? Get started on your next Progressive project now.”

A paw in progress

A paw in progress

It was easy to obey that command, because all I have to make is one simple 12″ block – a Bear’s Paw. Bear’s Paw got me thinking about teddy bears. That got me thinking about toys, and I was back to thinking about playing.

Stuffed toys at rest

Stuffed toys at rest

These are some of the stuffed toys I bought the kids when they were young. The kids grew up, and were ready to part with the toys. I wasn’t. They live on the top shelf of the closet. Don’t even think I’m saving them for grandkids. I’m saving them for myself.

A bull-riding dragon

A bull-riding dragon

These are toys I bought myself. The longhorn steer was acquired on a road trip to Texas. I wish I could say the dragon had been acquired on a road trip to Pern. To be honest, I’ve forgotten where I got it.

Stuffed sea lion with collar

Stuffed sea lion with collar

I remember this little guy, because my friend Sarah Ryan bought it for me in San Francisco. I was supposed to make a little shirt for it, but the gold fringe collar is as far as I’ve got. Yet another project on the stack, but a cute one.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Time To Play”

  1. timetowritenow Says:

    Lani, I sooo know what you mean about the stuffed animals. I had my son’s in my stepdaughter’s room but she’s 18 1/2 now, wants new decorations, and packed almost everything in her room for the garage sale that’s coming up. Of course I pulled out all of Adrian’s stuffed animals and now I have to find a place for them in my closet…or maybe on my book shelf.

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Or you could build a new bookshelf just for the toys. Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com)When Chenille Is Not Enough (www.smashwords.com, Amazon.com, BarnesandNoble.com)Lani Longshore’s Blog (www.lanilongshore.wordpress.com) Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com) From: “Lani Longshore's Blog” To: longshore1769@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, May 18, 2015 6:47 PM Subject: [Lani Longshore’s Blog] Comment: “Time To Play” #yiv7563597092 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7563597092 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7563597092 a.yiv7563597092primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7563597092 a.yiv7563597092primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7563597092 a.yiv7563597092primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7563597092 a.yiv7563597092primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7563597092 WordPress.com | | |

Leave a Reply

