Preparing For Something Wonderful

I hit my own personal, private trifecta of happiness this week. It started with a trip to the local library for their Star Wars Day celebration. I arrived early, so wandered over to the art gallery. This month’s display was made by local preschool children. The teachers surround the kids with paints, paper, small canvases, found objects, clay, wire – anything to spark creativity. The kids are prepared to create something wonderful, and they do. I realized I am already using this approach by stuffing my sewing room full of treasures, and all I need to add is more time in the aforementioned room to get my hands dirty. Happy event #1.

The celebration still hadn’t begun, so I headed to the stacks and found a book called Classic Russian Idylls by Proctor Jones. It is a collection of photographs, including this one of a swamp in Ukraine.

Lani Longshore swamp picture

Why this should be considered an idyll I’ll never know, but it sure is the landscape I wanted to create when I painted this background.

Lani Longshore landscape

I had an idea of water and horizon, but couldn’t see it clearly. I bought a book on perspective, thinking that would help me get closer to what I wanted, but still couldn’t envision the scene. With the photo of the swamp as a beginning, my next attempt should please me more. When I come up with something I like better, I’ll remove the pendant from the old landscape and put it on the new one, and bead or embroider (or both) the old until it squeals. Happy event #2.

The third happy event came when I praised a display of children’s art in a classroom. The teacher, who had sort of frightened me before, opened up and explained her philosophy of education (which includes lots of time for art). It was our first real conversation, and now we have bonded. Happy event #3.

The moral of the story is you can never tell what the day will bring. You may think you’re just waiting, but the universe is preparing you for something wonderful.

Abby, waiting for the cute bunnies to come out and play

Abby, waiting for the cute bunnies to come out and play

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Preparing For Something Wonderful”

  1. timetowritenow Says:

    I like the Ukraine swamp and how it inspired you. Next, I want to see Abby playing with the bunnies.

  2. Lani Longshore Says:

    I would love to see her playing with the bunnies, too – Abby is my daughter’s dog, and they live in another state. My daughter says she chases the bunnies as best she can, but the sweet old thing isn’t quite as agile as she thinks she is.

  3. timetowritenow Says:

    As long as she has fun, and the bunnies like it too, play along with her illusion. 🙂

Leave a Reply

