Again With The Trees

I’m guessing I was a druid in a past life. Or an oak. I could have been an oak. At any rate, my connection to trees is powerful. Like the Doctor and a fez, I can’t just walk past a tree.

Beautiful tree!

Beautiful tree!

I bought this necklace at the Livermore Art Association Spring Show. Not only is it stunning, it gives me some great ideas for using my larger beads.

Leaves for an autumn tree?

Leaves for an autumn tree?

My wire skills are minimal, but I can make tree trunks for art quilts with ribbons, or maybe smaller beads.

I have more inspiration for tree work than time to create. The necklace is just the latest addition to a growing collection of jewelry, art, and photos about trees. If all else fails, I can always take a walk and admire the many lovely trees in my neighborhood. If you are looking for inspiration from trees for your work, check out Ancient Trees: Portraits of Time by Beth Moon.

Lani Longshore Ancient Trees

Beth Moon has an amazing eye, and Abbeville Press created a worthy volume for her talent.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Again With The Trees”

  1. marlenedotterer Says:

    Love that necklace!

  2. timetowritenow Says:

    Lani, I’m a tree lover too. I have a special one in Berkeley that I hug when I pass it to work in my husband’s office. I send positive messages to all trees on earth through that tree.

Leave a Reply

