Calming Influences

We have construction at our house. Life is disrupted. I am in need of calming influences.

The bathroom  is stripped to the studs

The bathroom is stripped to the studs

Rebuilding the bathroom will take a month. In that time, my sewing room will be difficult to access, since it is right next to the bathroom, which is gutted and floorless.

Staring down at dirt

Staring down at dirt

Moongazer of Cats, Chaos and Chronic Pain, posted a lovely blog about coloring your way to calm (click here to read more of that). My crayons are in the sewing room, which – as I mentioned – is difficult to access. However, I have my beading project. Beading isn’t the same as coloring, but it is hypnotic, and soothing. I’m doing a lot of beading these days.

This clump of black beads may or may not be extended

This clump of black beads may or may not be extended

If I have to be left with one project for a while, this one has many rewards. Not least, I discovered that while I’m not great at beading on the lines, I’m really quite good at squiggles.

A crumble of brown beads

A crumble of brown beads

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Calming Influences”

  1. Moongazer Says:

    Thank you for linking me 😀
    Oh, I do feel for you. Our bathroom was re-done a couple of years ago and it’s a nightmare. No wonder your beading is a bit wobbly! But that just adds character to the quilt overall 😀 xx

  2. jkroyce Says:

    It may be a disaster now, but in a couple of months you’ll be so happy to have your new bathroom. In the meantime, I’m glad you have such a wonderful diversion.

  3. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    Lani, great time to concentrate on finishing your novel.

  4. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    The black beads look like a great spider for one of your plants.

Leave a Reply

