Labels

Labels for people are rarely useful, unless you are planning a potluck. In that case, making sure you invite the people known for their signature dishes – The Fruit Salad Lady (my mom) and The Deviled Egg Lady (my friend Ann), for example – guarantees the rest of your guests are happy. Aside from that, save the labels for your boxes. It should go without saying that you should use the labels you save, but here’s the evidence that I don’t always follow my own advice.

Manufacturer's labels - useless after you've bought the item

Manufacturer’s labels – useless after you’ve bought the item

When I cleared away the piles in front of these bins, I realized I had no idea what was in them. Worse, I couldn’t remember when I had put those bins at the bottom of the stack (which I removed before I took this picture). Clearly, whenever it was I had already decided I didn’t need to get to the bins in a timely fashion.

So, I bit the bullet, pulled out the bins and filled that hole with fabric that I hope to use in the near future.

The box holds pillow forms, the crate fabric - both are open to view

The box holds pillow forms, the crate fabric – both are open to view

The bins held a pleasing variety of treasure and trash. I’ve put the treasure in bins with like items and tossed most of the trash (well, you never know when you’re going to need something to embellish a trashy quilt).

A side benefit of pulling out the bins was I managed to unearth some forgotten fabric collections.

Lani Longshore fabric

It is possible that I collected these black-and-gold fabrics for high school quilts for my kids. Given that my youngest graduated in 2005, I’m guessing I can use the fabric for something else.

There were several other fabric collections that had outlived their project deadlines, but I’m certain I’ll find something to do with them. If all else fails, I’ve got stuff to make backs.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Labels”

  1. jkroyce Says:

    My question was: Did you meticulously label each box and bin after this most recent sort?

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Oh, but you make a little joke!

      Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com)When Chenille Is Not Enough (www.smashwords.com, Amazon.com, BarnesandNoble.com)Lani Longshore’s Blog (www.lanilongshore.wordpress.com) Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com) From: “Lani Longshore's Blog” To: longshore1769@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, January 15, 2015 5:46 AM Subject: [Lani Longshore’s Blog] Comment: “Labels” #yiv3680868264 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3680868264 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3680868264 a.yiv3680868264primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3680868264 a.yiv3680868264primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3680868264 a.yiv3680868264primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3680868264 a.yiv3680868264primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3680868264 WordPress.com | | |

Leave a Reply

