Waiting For The Light

The holidays are over, the house is quiet, and I am back in the sewing room. The center for a small quilt is finished – which is not a huge achievement given that I started with three panels. Still, all that is left is to find something to put on the sides. This is what I pull from the drawer.

Lani Longshore baby quilt

It isn’t great, but it isn’t awful. I pick up the cutters, when that often-ignored voice speaks. “Self, wait for the light.”

This is actually less profound than you might think. The sun set before I strong-armed myself in front of the sewing machine, which meant I was picking fabric under artificial light. I have learned to my horror that this is a dreadful idea. So, I waited until morning and discovered a much better combination.

Lani Longshore baby quilt

The part of my brain that wants to use up my stash kicked into gear, and I realized I could add at least one more small piece of fabric. This is how the quilt ended.

Lani Longshore baby quilt

Waiting for the light is always worth it.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Waiting For The Light”

  1. jkroyce Says:

    I think “Wait for the light,” will become my new mantra when my muse is elusive.

  2. Maya Says:

    It looks great! I am looking forward to seeing it tomorrow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

