The Practical Side of Creativity

Creativity starts with asking “what if” – for example, “What if I crushed the leftover Whoppers from Halloween and made cookies?” Since we had a lot of them, I figured there was no real downside to experimenting.

The candy known in my house as Whackers

The candy known in my house as Whackers

Who knew that those chocolate-covered things turned into a wonderful flour? They also make a satisfying crunch when you whack them with a rolling pin, which helps with stress management. I substituted half a cup of finely crushed Whoppers for regular flour in my basic chocolate chip cookie recipe, and the results were great.

Lani Longshore cookies

The next “what if” question I tried was, “What if I make the letter Challenge project with one of my grandmother’s leftover embroidered pieces and name it Jardin de Grand-mere?” Never mind that my grandfather was the one who did most of the gardening, or that the only connection my grandmother had to anything remotely French was that she would make frog’s legs every summer – for the annual fish and frog fry. Jardin begins with “j” so it fits the challenge, and I used a lovely bit of embroidery for which I had no other project.

Lani Longshore quilt Jardin de Grand-mere

Here is my grandmother’s work:

Georgia Wright Longshore did beautiful work

Georgia Wright Longshore did beautiful work

So it appears, wonder of wonders, that you can be both practical and creative.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

