A New Start

It looks like I really did abandon the jazz project. I decided to consider my options for a new start while finishing up a few projects, including the quilt of valor.

Bordered, quilted and bound

Bordered, quilted and bound

Not long ago, Cloth Paper Scissors Today ran an article on doing self-portraits (click here). I decided to give that technique a try and see if it would help me resurrect the jazz project.

The plastic is on top of the mirror

The plastic is on top of the mirror

The idea is to use a piece of plastic and a mirror to trace your own face. Turns out that’s harder than you might expect, especially if your eyesight is as bad as mine. You’re supposed to get real close to the mirror and use one eye to draw the contours of your face. That means taking off my glasses and remembering which eye has the worst problem with astigmatism. I managed something of an outline, which you are then supposed to use from the opposite side so your self-portrait is the way other people see you. This is my first attempt on fabric.

Scary enough for a Halloween mask

Scary enough for a Halloween mask

It’s not what I would call jazzy, but I have some embellishments that I can bead with jingly-jangly stuff – which will fit the Challenge alphabet project using a “j” word.

I wasn’t thrilled with the idea, however, so once again I decided to consider my options while working on something else. Here is where I started:

A first draft

A first draft

Here is where I ended.

The finished project

The finished project

I turned it around to see what it looked like in different orientations, and I decided I could call it “Jog” – as in, be careful of that jog in the road or you’ll end up going the wrong way. If you squint, the interrupted line sort of looks like a “j” (one of the rules is to have your letter incorporated on the surface in some way). At any rate, that’s what I’m going to tell folks just in case I don’t finish the jazz project in time and have to use this for my challenge.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

