Return of the Deadline

Summer is over. The projects on the to-do list are increasingly colored like holidays – black and orange, pumpkin and roasty brown, red and green. Before daylight savings time arrives and the urge to hibernate takes over, I will revisit my calendar and the return of deadlines.

The first thing I need to do is trick myself into finishing things that aren’t going to become presents. This is the little quilt I made from scraps of my Viking journey tote bag.

Lani Longshore Viking quilt base

Here’s a detail view.

Lani Longshore Viking quilt binding

This project has no immediate home, but if I put the embellishments in a basket and put the basket on the couch, I’ve got a better chance of finishing it on those nights when my brain is only good for watching movies.

Lani Longshore Viking embellishments

Remember, finished projects can go in a cupboard, but materials live in the sewing room, taunting you (what, you mean I’m the only one who hears my beads trash-talking?).

The next deadline trick is to take out a UFO for friendship group discussion.

Connections in a quilters brain

Connections in a quilters brain

My art quilt critique group is going to be discussing works-in-series in November. What better time to revisit my brain quilt series? My goal is to cut some of the fabric I’ve collected, piece or applique enough to see what embellishment techniques will work well, and put those on the couch, too.

My hope is that the habit of finishing will carry me through the holidays. Then I hope that momentum will drop-kick me well into the new year.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Return of the Deadline”

  1. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    I dawdle with long deadlines. Short ones get my attention and my fingers fly across the cloth or yarn. My crime fiction manuscript progresses faster when I set a deadline for it. Like my knitting projects, my manuscipt has scraps of paragraphs and pages waiting in a basket for the next deadline.

Leave a Reply

