My Kind of Forest

I was able to see forests and trees this week by turning dog bed forms into daybed pillows.

A tidy forest close at hand

A tidy forest close at hand

I brought my husband to the fabric store to show him the kinds of pillows I could make. As we strolled through the display, I noticed a clearance sale on small dog bed forms. My husband pronounced them the perfect size and squishiness.

When we got home, I showed him my collection of tree fabric. For once, reason prevailed – I held nothing back because in my heart I know I will never finish all the quilts my collected fabrics could make. Better to get them out as pillows than have them hiding in a pile. He chose some and I got to work.

Lani Longshore green pillow detail

My go-to design with home dec is a simple stripe. The best part is there is a decent sized square of this left over, so I’ll get to turn it into a small tree quit after all.

Lani Longshore mountain detail

I could never bring myself to cut up these mountains. I still haven’t cut them up, and I used them in a project. That’s a victory in my book.

Lani Longshore green fabrics

The last pillow will be made from these fabrics. When it is done, I’ll have reduced a fabric pile by one-third, made another corner of the house colorful and comfy, and put myself back on the path of finishing things. Time for the happy dance.

Luck and wisdom!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “My Kind of Forest”

  1. katmulkey Says:

    the pillows are beautiful!

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Thanks! Just a little follow-up – they turned out to be too squishy after all. I went back and bought some foam to add substance. Luckily, the foam compresses the existing pillow form enough that the cases still work.

      Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) When Chenille Is Not Enough(www.smashwords.com, Amazon.com, BarnesandNoble.com) Lani Longshore’s Blog (www.lanilongshore.wordpress.com)

      Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

Leave a Reply

