Low-Hanging Fruit

 

There are times when you forge ahead, knowing success will follow. This is not one of those times. This is the time to pick the low-hanging fruit and consider yourself lucky if the birds and squirrels left a piece or two.

Lani Longshore green silk

I ripped a couple of pieces of silk to dye. This one begged for beading. I found my collection of green beads, put them in a clear plastic bag, put that bag in a tote bag, and went off to a meeting. At the meeting, I couldn’t find the beads. Maybe they fell out, maybe they’re hiding under a flap or in a pocket.

Lani Longshore pink silk

This piece was intended to go with my collection of pink and brown fabrics, ribbons, buttons and other embellishments. The problem is, I don’t want to cut it, I want to wear it. I haven’t decided if that desire is strong enough for hand rolling the edges to make a scarf.

Before hopping on the pity train, I gave my project stash one last chance to be nice to me. I pulled out the piece from Alex Anderson‘s hand quilting workshop and wrote my mantra with watercolor pencils (at the very least it is what Ann Anastasio and I use when we sign our novels).

Lani Longshore mantra

Low-hanging fruit is always a blessing.

Luck and wisdom!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

