Puttering On The Edge Of Productivity

 

There are days when I can see the end result of my creative work, but not the first step. Those are the days that I putter on the edge of productivity, hoping for a word, an image, anything to put a mark on my blank page/canvas/design wall.

Even my baking asks for a jump start sometimes. I needed to make treats for a meeting, and everything I thought of seemed blah. I went shopping, which is usually a big mistake because if I’m looking for inspiration I buy a lot more than I need. This time, inspiration came cheap.

Googly-eye cats on St. Patrick's Day doilies

Googly-eye cats on St. Patrick’s Day doilies

I found the googly eyes, remembered my long-neglected cat cookie cutter, and hoped I had enough butter for a shaped cookie (I did).

Of course, there are times when I get the first step, and the second, but the third is missing. My workshop beading project is like that. I beaded a little, let it sit, beaded a little more, let it sit a little more. I think I’ve finally found step three, which is to mount the beaded piece on a separate quilted piece.

The water challenge - study in blue

The water challenge – study in blue

We’ll see where steps four through seven take me. I think I might need a few more tassels, but the beads haven’t told me what they want yet.

This tassel may want some sisters

This tassel may want some sisters

Luck and Wisdom!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Puttering On The Edge Of Productivity”

  1. jkroyce Says:

    I love the quilted piece. It looks a bit like a dream catcher. And I like it as it is, with just the two tassels. However, the cookies, I assume you have to pick off the eyes to eat them? Not good for my grandsons although they look like gingersnaps which we are making tomorrow.

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Thanks for the vote of confidence for the beaded project. I’ll tell the beads you said there are enough. The eyes on the cookies are crunchy, but edible. Wonderful things they can do with sugar.

        Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) When Chenille Is Not Enough(www.smashwords.com, Amazon.com, BarnesandNoble.com) Lani Longshore’s Blog (www.lanilongshore.wordpress.com)

      Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

  2. marlenedotterer Says:

    Ah yes, the dreaded third step. Why is it always so hard?

    I love the piece you’re making. It’s going to be gorgeous.

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      I think we could make a fortune if we came up with a marketable answer to why the third step is so hard!   Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) When Chenille Is Not Enough(www.smashwords.com, Amazon.com, BarnesandNoble.com) Lani Longshore’s Blog (www.lanilongshore.wordpress.com)

      Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

Leave a Reply

