Art Quilt Santa Fe 2014

 

The fourth Art Quilt Santa Fe was wonderful, as always. I was able to help Ann Anastasio and Gale Oppenhiem-Pietrzak and their fabulous teachers, Betty Busby and Carol Shinn. I also had the chance to learn about a new product (well, new to me), Colorhue Instant Set Silk Dyes.

Experiment with dye

Experiment with dye

Whoever created this product had me in mind. It works on protein-based fabrics (silk or wool), sets immediately, and is reasonably non-toxic. We made a test square first, spritzing the fabric with water then scrunching it to get the pattern. After that, we each made a scarf.

My new treasure

My new treasure

Colorhue is available through Dharma Trading Company. My order of dyes and silk is on its way even as I type. Heaven knows where I’ll put it, but I’ll steal space if I must.

Gale and Ann are working on the details for the next Art Quilt Santa Fe (late April 2015). I’m planning on going out to help again – consider joining the fun!

Luck and wisdom!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Art Quilt Santa Fe 2014”

  1. jkroyce Says:

    What glorious colors. Awesome. Glad you are have such a great experience.

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Thanks, it was great fun, and the Colorhues and silk arrived today! Lani

        Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) When Chenille Is Not Enough(www.smashwords.com, Amazon.com, BarnesandNoble.com) Lani Longshore’s Blog (www.lanilongshore.wordpress.com)

      Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

  2. Thea Says:

    love the color hue dyes… enjoy!

Leave a Reply

