Spring Cleaning

 

My stash is full of fabric meant for the perfect project. Backs do not count as the perfect project, which is silly, because even art quilts have their backs showing sometime. Still, it’s hard using the good stuff. Then I put fabric away before going on to the next step in my second Challenge project and heard the voices of all the wise quilters I know. It’s all good stuff, I might as well use it, and spring cleaning is a great excuse to make me use it.

Lani Longshore beet fabric

My second Challenge project for the Easter assignment is based on Russian Orthodox symbols – the Orthodox cross and the habit of dying Easter eggs a deep red (Ukrainians dye pysanky, the elaborate wax resist eggs). Since I grew up eating borscht, I know all about the Russian connection to beets. I unearthed my beet print fabric, used it for the back of the quilt, and used the pattern for my quilt design.

The eggs will come later, along with beads and embroidery

The eggs will come later, along with beads and embroidery

The next bit of cleaning was an experiment for my tree series. The Progressive Party is doing a tree block project later this summer, and I thought I would use a variety of scraps for the trunks. The experiment worked fine, but I realized the trees I made would be way too big for the blocks. A writing friend, Shelia Bali, gave me some fabric (I’m not the only one doing spring cleaning) and one piece was perfect for a background. I decided to choose the scraps I would use, not just take what was near the top of the basket.

Lani Longshore trees

Finally, I cleaned out enough of the green drawer to get a collection of good stuff for the Progressive project.

Assorted greens and background

Assorted greens and background

The fabric hasn’t told me how it wants to be used, but it is very happy to be out of that drawer.

Luck and wisdom!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Spring Cleaning”

  1. jkroyce Says:

    So, both your muse and your fabric talk to you? You lead an interesting life. My muse seems to have gone silent. Maybe I should sort out my fabric box. Do you need anymore fabric? (Only kidding.)

  2. Jo Day Says:

    Some beautiful, and meaningful, stitching here. Thanks for sharing x

  3. Lani Longshore Says:

    No more, no more! I treasure all the fabric too much to let it go. Same with some of my stories – just can’t let them go.

  4. nsturgill Says:

    Beautiful beet print fabric!

  5. marjorie Says:

    Love your beet fabric.

  6. Fabric of Our Lives | Narrative NetworkNarrative Network | Narrative Network is a legacy blog and media consulting firm. Says:

    […] Spring Cleaning […]

Leave a Reply

