Not A Quiet Week

 

There were three appointments on my calendar this week, and only two of them required any work on my part. I guess the universe decided that was too quiet, because I spent a lot of time doing little bitty life stuff and not creative stuff.

I did manage to get my NASA star block finished (click here for details about the quilt astronaut Karen Nyberg is organizing).

Ready to send to Houston for the anniversary quilt

Ready to send to Houston for the anniversary quilt

The gold fabric is a reference to astronauts getting a gold pin when they’ve flown in space. The blue represents Earth, the blue marble. The black speckled fabric is the cosmos. The block represents our planet nestled in its own gravitational valley of space-time, announcing to any species watching that we’re taking our first steps into the universe (can you tell I’ve been practicing writing artist statements?).

Luck and wisdom!

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Not A Quiet Week”

  1. marlenedotterer Says:

    Love it!

  2. Vi Parsons Says:

    When I saw your post about the NASA quilt block, I made one the next day. The instructions said “sign your name with a permanent marker on the front of your block.” Where do you plan to sign your block?

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      I signed mine on the lower right edge of the blue circle. I used a very fine black Pigma pen so my name is visible if you’re looking, but doesn’t draw the eye away from the block design.

Leave a Reply

