Background Material

The nurse who drew my blood at my last donation gave me a gift. She made a different mark for the insertion site.

 

Let me explain. I have teeny-tiny veins, and they’re hidden deep in my arm. When I donate blood, the nurse first has to pump up the pressure cuff to find a vein, then mark it carefully before swabbing down that patch of skin. All the other people have drawn four arrows pointing in one spot. This time, the nurse drew a rectangle with lines on opposite ends marking the line of insertion for the needle. It was so cool, I knew it would make a great block.

 

Looks like chain links, right?

Looks like chain links, right?

 

As I considered the block, I remembered an article I read about medical tattoos – temporary patches made from nanotubes to deliver medication. That brought to mind a scene in a medical bay I had written in The Chenille Ultimatum (part of the series with Ann AnastasioDeath By Chenille and When Chenille Is Not Enough). Although the heroine in that scene was being treated for minor bumps and bruises, I know there will be a bigger battle scene later in the book, and I could use medical tattoos that look like quilt blocks for the wounded.

 

That brought to mind a project I have put aside temporarily about space Vikings. I could have permanent tattoos for those soldiers.

 

Places for soldiers' medical tattoos

Places for soldiers’ medical tattoos

 

When my soldiers are picked up after a battle, I could have the medics wrap them in quilts with matching patches that quickly diagnose the injuries and start repair work while the transport pods bring them to the medical ships.

 

That brought me to my scrap bin to experiment with leftovers for a background for this quilt.

 

A background for embroidery, applique, LEDs

A background for embroidery, applique, LEDs

 

Once I figure out what I want the patch to look like, I can embroider and quilt it sashiko style on the background, then insert some LED lights to make it really fancy. If there’s a chance to add some glitz to my life, I’m there.

 

A glitzy flower makes me smile

A glitzy flower makes me smile

 

All of this background material for various projects, just because a clever nurse drew a different box on my skin.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Background Material”

  1. marlenedotterer Says:

    I bow in humility to your awesomeness, Lani. What a lot of Very Cool Ideas from one small experience.

Leave a Reply

