The Spirit of a Dog

Although I delayed the vacuuming until someone was around to comfort Abby, the dog decided to be brave. She retreated briefly when the vacuum monster roared. Marshalling her courage, she crept forward to meet it. She stood her ground for a time, then realized this was not a battle she could win. Still, I think she considered the confrontation a victory.

 

Abby on the clean(ish) rug

Abby on the clean(ish) rug

 

Abby’s courage, while ill-advised given that the vacuum monster isn’t going to eat anyone, inspired me this week. I’m running away from the pile monster, and that needs to stop.

 

My plan was to take some of the treasures that I’d hidden in other rooms and bring them to the sewing room so I could a) admire them and b) store them where I could see them so that c) I would eventually use them. I started with my notebook collection.

 

One part of the collection

One part of the collection

 

Then I found another corner with notebooks.

 

Another part of the collection

Another part of the collection

 

Next to the second stash of notebooks I found Christmas stuff – “just in case” presents, stuff to add to presents, stuff to use for decorations.

 

Forgotten things from a scary corner

Forgotten things from a scary corner

 

I’ve made progress on tidying the piles in the sewing room, but there are still mountains to face. Who knew I was so good at finding corners to stash stuff?

 

At least the thread pile is next to the sewing machine

At least the thread pile is next to the sewing machine

 

So this week I’m going to channel the spirit of a dog. Although I retreated from the piles many times, I will throw myself once more into the breach. I may retreat again, but someday – someday – I will taste victory.

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “The Spirit of a Dog”

  1. marlenedotterer Says:

    Abby bravely facing the vacuum monster is sort of how I approach housework. I certainly understand.

Leave a Reply

