One of Those Years

If you can predict the future by the first week of the year, 2014 will be the year of “oops”. This was the week I forgot to put the yeast in the yeasted pastry. My daughter discovered the blooming yeastie-beasties in time for me to make another batch, and the unyeasted pastry tastes just fine toasted.

 

The next “oops” came when I tried to read the letters on a decorative textile. I was certain the word was in Russian, but there was figure that looked too weird. Then I rotated the piece.

 

Clearly a chicken, clearly not Russian

Clearly a chicken, clearly not Russian

 

If I’m lucky, I’ll be able to laugh at myself all year long.

 

The week also brought some lovely surprises. The first surprise came when I stopped at my local quilt store to buy some thread. I took a brief glance around the shop and discovered this amazing fabric.

 

Lani Longshore Viking fabric

 

How often do you find Viking fabric? I bought two yards.

 

The next surprise came when I helped a friend with an estate sale. She let me pick whatever I wanted as a thank-you, and I found the cutest little lunch sets and a 50’s-era cup and saucer.

 

Lani Longshore lunch set

 

I’ll be eating in style at the next brown bag event.

 

Last, my friend Ann Anastasio gave me my very own miniature flamingo set.

 

Lani Longshore flamingo

 

Yes, I’ll definitely be giggling all year long.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

